Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Problems with AVR programmers and windows 10

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bjornj

Bascom Member



Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 14

sweden.gif
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 11:09 am    Post subject: Problems with AVR programmers and windows 10 Reply with quote

Hello everybody!

Since I got Windows 10 I haven't been able to program
AVR processors using my regular pc.
The programmers does not function with atmel studio.
I have one Olimex programer and one USBASP programmer.
None of them is works.
The Olimex require firmware uppdate, which I haven't been able to perform.
And the newly bought USBASP is not recognized by Atmel studion at all.
only simulated mode is possible.
I have tried to install new drivers, first having disabled driver signatur sensing.
I tried both Zadig and Thomas Fischl drivers as recommended by various sites.
But the pc only replies "Your driver is up to date.
Fortunately I have a small old desktop computer with XP that still works.
Anyone has an idear what to do.
Also, it would be wonderfull if it was possible to program directly from bascom
But that seem even more difficult.

Best regards
Björn Johansson
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5098
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both programmers work fine from within bascom when the drivers are installed.
Now there are 1001 different USBASP so i am not going to comment on that.
The olimex is an avr isp mkII clone. firmware update is described and simple. if you have problems with it, contact olimex support.
Before this programmer will work in bascom, it needs to work correct with the avr studio driver. bascom uses libusb to communicate with USB devices but that only works when these devices work correct, and that is only the case when the driver is installed. So yes, it first need to work with AVR Studio.

There is an alternative if you do not need studio : install libusb (see bascom help) and install a device driver. Normally you install a FILTER driver so the device works with the original software(studio) and with other software (bascom). When making a device driver, the driver only works with libusb and bascom in this case.

We also sell the Kamprog from Kamami which will work with windows built in HID drivers and does not need any external driver. But that was not your question.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
AlanGHosler

Bascom Member



Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 80

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2016 3:36 pm    Post subject: AVRISP not Working Reply with quote

My AVRISP Mkii worked for a while with Windows 10 then stopped in early April 2016. It does work on another computer running an earlier version of windows.

I do not find the "LIBUSB***" file in C:\Program Files on my computer but when I start to download it I get the message that a more current version is included as "C:\windows\SysWOW64\libusb0.dll".

So should I still download the LIBUSB file? I hesitate to just try it and see what happens as this approach often gets me into real trouble.

If I do need to download the file what is the best source to download it from?

I agree with Mark about having to trash hardware because the vendors won't provide updated drivers. I have taken two HP scanners to the landfill because they won't work with newer issues if Windows. So I don't buy HP anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5098
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2016 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i advise to search your system for the inf-wizard.exe
it is in program files (x86)\libusb-win32\bin but could be somewhere else too depending on how you installed.

then run it, and install the filter driver again. i think after studio update or so, this is required.

HP : great products but i also will not buy their products ever again. On my color laser i only use Black and only once in a month color. So it is set to use only black and not any color. But after a lot of prints, i must replace the color ! Even while they are full. And even worse : you can not print in black after that either. it will not function until you replaced all the toners. Even while you do not use color, you can not print after that. I understand they want to sell toner but this is ridiculous.

I have a good Konica Minolta laser which also did not got an update for the driver. it is a waste of the environment. i keep one PC with XP in order to use up the toner. I am really disappointed in many vendors that they can get a way with this.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
AlanGHosler

Bascom Member



Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 80

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 4:34 am    Post subject: AVRISP Reply with quote

Thanks Mark

I did all of that. libusb-Win32 seemed to run okay. However in Device Manager the "AVRISB mkii" is listed separately under "libusb-Win32" rather than under "Jungo" (which does contain "WinDrive").

This however did not fix my problem.

You mentioned the Kamprog. I see in their website they make no mention as to whether or not it works with Windows 10. Do you know about that?

Alan
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5098
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if it is not listed under Jungo it probably means you made a device driver. there can be only 1 device driver for a vid-pid combination ie a device.
so the device will not work with studio too i assume?
I recommend to install the driver from studio again so that it works with studio. after that, follow libusb from the help. and install a filter driver. that way it will work with both studio and bascom.

The kamprog uses windows HID drivers and does not need an external driver. it also works on windows 10. But, some times the firmware need to be upgraded which is simple.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
AlanGHosler

Bascom Member



Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 80

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 3:43 pm    Post subject: AVRISP Reply with quote

That is correct, it does not work with Studio 4.19. So until I get that problem resolved, as I understand it, there is no reason to deal with libusb-win32.
Back to top
View user's profile
hgrueneis

Bascom Member



Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 863
Location: A-4786 Brunnenthal

austria.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 1:58 am    Post subject: HP laser reset toner Reply with quote

@ Mark Alberts and all who are concerned:

Most HP laser printers cartridges can be reset to keep printing after the count stops them from printing.
Search for 'how to reset HP laser cartridges' or similar.
Most likely you will find a video on YOUTUBE that explains it.
I have two wireless Brother lasers (HL and MFC types) that had the same issue but can be reset and then print about twice as many pages.
These resets can be done from the control panel.
Some printers cover need to be opened closed and opened again to take the change.
but I think it is worth it when the cost for all cartridges is about 250 to 300 bucks.
Good luck.
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5098
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Hubert

yes i know about resetting. for my old CD printer i had a device that could reset the chip.
i did not found a way to do that for the HP. But it is of no concern any more. At some stage i bought new toners but it never printed good in color after that. so after the b&w was empty i got rid of it.
The brother works great. and it did not had a problem with printing mostly b&w : i only had to replace the BW toner. And the best of it, the toner cost only 20 euro! not an original one but works the same.
For those in the Netherlands, this can save you a lot of money : https://www.innkt.nl/

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum