Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

LCD Problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
radciprian

Bascom Member



Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Location: Cluj-Napoca, ROMANIA, EU

romania.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:18 pm    Post subject: LCD Problem Reply with quote

Hello,

I have an EA W162B-BNLW LCD with a HD44780 controller.



http://www.lcd-module.com/deu/pdf/doma/blueline-w.pdf

It is connected to an ATMega8 in 4 bit mode. I have tried everything to make it work, but i always get white boxes on first row. The board works OK with other two LCD's models. I have attached to this topic the init procedure sented to me by the german company of this LCD model. At first view everything looks OK, the default init from an HD44870 controller, but maybe i miss something.

Any opinion is good.

P.S.: I'we also tried Luciano's library with busy flag check, but NOTHING.
Back to top
View user's profile
AdrianJ

Bascom Expert



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2473
Location: Queensland

australia.gif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never used EA character display modules. Possibly you might get a better response in the general Bascom-AVR forum, which is much more active.
_________________
Adrian Jansen
Computer language is a framework for creativity
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
ajvuik

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Apr 2011
Posts: 46
Location: Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I viewed the text file you added and I am wondering, did you connect D0~D3 from the LCD to the controller or D4~D7. Because normaly in 4 bit mode D4~D7 from the LCD should be connected and not D0~D3. These will have no function in 4 Bit mode and that's why the LCD won't init.

If you connected PX0~PX3 from the controller to D4~D7 the there should be no problem, except that you have to send MSB(Bit4~Bit7) first and then LSB(Bit0~Bit3).

Picture to explain the connections:
Back to top
View user's profile
ajvuik

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Apr 2011
Posts: 46
Location: Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ow... this topic is perhaps a bit old... srry. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum