Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Xtiny

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:48 am    Post subject: Xtiny Reply with quote

I will use this topic to update you on xtiny.

one thing not mentioned in the help is that changing pull up behavior can be changed with the CONFIG XPIN. Just as with xmega.
Only the options differ : Config Xpin = Portc.3 , Sense = Falling, OUTPULL=PULLUP
using CTRL+SPACE you get the options.

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2083 , Latest : 2.0.8.3 )

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The INVERTIO option is missing from the DAT files. you can download new dat files from register if you need to use this option.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An update is available for the xtiny add on.
You can download it the usual way : from register

this update also contains a compiler update to support the new xtiny options.

here is a list :

2083.008 (only available in xtiny add on)
- xtiny 8 pin chips set the wrong tx pin for config com. as a work around, you can define a portb alias that points to portA
- xtiny config xpin was missing the INVERTIO option in the DAT files.
- config spi0 for xtiny 202,402,212,412(8 pins) did not set the SS pin in the proper state.
- config vref was not described in the help
- adc.bas sample added for xtiny
- xtiny dat files updated for config adc and signature row offset adjusted.
- xtiny adc1 can also be configured now
- xtiny renamed ACI to AC : config ac0. Also added ac1 and ac2
- xtiny config dac1 and dac2 added.
- xtiny config port_mux added.
- xtiny SPI sample added
- xtiny dac.bas sample added
- xtiny portmux.bas sample added
- RESET MICRO added which will soft reset the micro. for xtiny/xmega a hardware soft reset is performed. For normal AVR a jump to the start address is performed.
- getadc can also read and process the internal temp sensor when you define a const named _adc_kelvin. The value is unimportant. see adc.bas example

One important change : the oscillator has been renamed from 20MH into 16_20MHz this to better reflect that it is either running at 16 or 20 Mhz. And that this option does not change the actual frequency.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
olhexy

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 192
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to update.
Compiler build shows version 2.0.8.3.008 now.
But copying the Help files resulted in empty Help. Only Index, Contents on the leftside but empty Help documentation on the right side.

To be honest: I am not so happy with updating the add-on by downloading the new "Download full XTINY Add On" file and get instructions to manually copy (overwriting) several files to Bascom at different places. I am not sure at all that I did it the right way.
Also: I had to choose replace BASC-AVR.DLL, and that makes me feel my license could be at risk.
Why do I have to deal with 2 licenses in 1 program?

I wish that updating the add-on could be done with Bascom AVR update from within the program.

Edit: I discovered that pressing "Startpagina" in Help opened an error warning. If I choose to continue ("Ja")...


...then I see this:
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the start page points to the MCS web start page. the pop up is for the web access permission. when you use the browser you also have to give consent that the site uses cookies.
so when html help loads the browser it also requires this.

when you remove the bascavr.chw file, and then run the chm file again, it should show content.

i agree that the update for the package can be handled more simple. i will look into it. usually it is just a lib and in my mind all users used to work with MS-DOS but even if they do, it is better to have an automatic update.
the compiler update is just to support the additional xtiny hardware. if you dont need it, leave it.
i could have waited till 2084 for the compiler update but then the xtiny users would have to wait which was also not a good idea.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
olhexy

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 192
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am very sorry, but I cannot get updated Help in the program. I spent half a day on this. Only thing I can do is revert to older version. So now we get definitions changed but not documented in Help.

When I look at Bascom AVR Help on MCS website: that also doesn't seem to be updated.
For example:
In the MCS website Bascom AVR Help there is CONFIG DACX for Xtiny
But nothing is there about dac1 and dac2

In the MCS website Bascom AVR Help there is CONFIG ACIX for Xtiny
Nothing is there about "config ac0, ac1 and ac2"

Me thinks that 'updating the add-on' means figuring things out from the new examples and see/experiment if it works with the new or previous BASC-AVR.DLL and/or other add-on files.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i guess i should not have provided the update this way.
in your case i would suggest to use the old version and wait for the next update.

about the web : indeed it is not updated. that would confuse normal users that do not have the add on.
i will check the help. for me it works as supposed.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried it on a VM and the help works normal.

if you create a command file (install.cmd) and put the following lines in it :

ECHO THIS WILL INSTALL THE ADD ON
PAUSE

COPY *.* %1
copy DAT\*.DAT %1\DAT
copy LIB\*.LIB %1\LIB
copy help\*.* %1

MD %1\SAMPLES\XTINY
copy samples %1\SAMPLES\XTINY



then the files will be copied. for example : install c:\mcs\bascavr2083
the command parameter must be the path of the main bascom-avr folder.

the help : maybe it is missing the proper rights.
try to copy with admin rights.
also, with explorer, right click the help file and chose properties.
Then click the UNBLOCK check box in the general tab page.
Dont know why it would block when previous version worked but this is a common problem with windows chm help.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
olhexy

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 192
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albertsm wrote:

also, with explorer, right click the help file and chose properties.
Then click the UNBLOCK check box in the general tab page.
Dont know why it would block when previous version worked but this is a common problem with windows chm help.


That worked! I have to unblock because "it comes from an other computer" (the MCS computer?).
Now I have Version 2.0.8.3 document build 92
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it always originates from the same location. but maybe you did not have admin rights when you replaced it.
i do not know the exact reason why the file gets blocked. it also happens when using setup.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum