Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

XMega PDI programmers?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
techknight

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 231

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:23 pm    Post subject: XMega PDI programmers? Reply with quote

So, I have been using the AVRISP mkII for a long time now, they seem to work good especially with the built-in programmer support for them, and the Xmega.

Issue is there is some type of weird thing going on that eventually whatever semiconductor component controls the RESET line from within the programmer itself, shorts and holds reset to ground, which is fatal and wont allow the board to boot of course, and then the programmer light will be either orange/red and go to red when querying the chip.

its random when it happens, and it may last for months before it does it again. so I was on my fourth and final programmer before it died...

So now I am without.

Sadly, I saw the AVRISP MKII is no longer manufactured anymore. Seems something liek avrice replaced it.

So my question is, is that programmer supported? and if not, are there any programmers on the supported list that use the built-in programming interface utility that also work with the XMega PDI like the AVRISP did?

I really want to avoid the avrdude and other nonsense if I can.

Thanks!

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.8.2 )
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5087
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

short answer : no

longer answer : i have a programmer for over at least 1 decade. and while i use various ones, it never broke.
so i would check your circuit.

you could repair the programmer or just get another PDI programmer. there are lots of them.
the myavr light is compatible but slower.

if you do not use studio you can get an olimex mkII. you need to put in different firmware but after that it works exact the same.
i had only few occasions where i had to resort to the original programmer.
I bought me a spare on ebay.

the ICE is very nice. but while adding support, atmel came with a newer model. so i put that on hold. i keep buying programmers and they make them more expensive every time.
since farnell sells these olimex programmers i would get that way. but i would repair the programmer first Very Happy

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
techknight

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 231

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem is I dont know how to repair the programmer as I dont have a schematic.

Not sure what shorts out on it, plus the transistors use those weird codes so I dont know what they are.

The circuit is fairly simple, its a PDI connected ATXmega128A1U, the Reset line has a 100K pullup resistor, and all the other lines are floating, and the 3.3VDC line is on the programming header as well as the ground.

so I dunno.
Back to top
View user's profile
mmarlette

Bascom Member



Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 303
Location: Delano, MN

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

techknight,

I am using the exact same programmer on the exact same uC. I have had mine for many years and like Mark's, no problem.

The only issue I have with it is it does a double reset. So when working with the MCP7941x RTCC, the powerdown/up registers where read on the first reset, then the other reset comes along and clears the screen in my code always, ANSI clear screen. So I just had to remember to scroll back through the serial terminal or unplug the mkII when testing that part of the driver. Most of the time the hardware doesn't care if there are two resets.

This is your fourth one, I would fix them all and make a schematic! Smile

Good luck, IMHO, they are worth it.

Regards,

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile
techknight

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 231

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im actually past my 4th one. I lost my 4th one and am currently without.

The trouble is the reset line somehow gets shorted to ground, low ohms. Internally in the programmer. Why I have no idea...

Luck of the draw I guess. the reset line on the board is only connected to a 100K pullup to 3.3V so theres nothing there.

I dont know what shorts out in the programmer, its super hard to trace, and I dont have a schematic.

Trust me, I would love to fix these things. I even tried driving RESET to 5V rail on my programmer directly with the programmer disconnected from circuit to see if anything got hot, and got nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile
Duesentrieb72

Bascom Member



Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 39

germany.gif
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at Waveshare...
https://www.waveshare.com/usb-avrisp.htm
Works like the original one.
Back to top
View user's profile
Evert :-)

Bascom Expert



Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2116

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duesentrieb72 wrote:
Have a look at Waveshare...

Is advertised as DISCONTINUED
Quote:

Works like the original one.

Nop, doesn't support PDI, TPI and works only with 10 years old avr studio 4.

_________________
www.evertdekker.com Bascom code vault
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
O-Family

Bascom Expert



Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 186
Location: Japan

japan.gif
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waveshare's "USB AVRISP XPII" worked the same as Atmel's "AVRISP mkII".
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=ja&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ne.jp%2Fasahi%2Fshared%2Fo-family%2FElecRoom%2FAVRMCOM%2FAVRISPmkII%2FAVRISPmkII.html&sandbox=1

The reset pull-up resistor is 20KΩ-60KΩ in the built-in AVR, and if the programmer's 6-pin cable is long, it may malfunction due to noise from desk lighting equipment.
External pull-up of 4.7KΩ-10KΩ is safe.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Duesentrieb72

Bascom Member



Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 39

germany.gif
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry guys,
I was too fast looking on the Waveshares web side.
Looking on my device is this one:
https://www.waveshare.com/usb-avrisp-xpii.htm
This works really with Bascom and pull-up of 4k7
Back to top
View user's profile
JC

Bascom Member



Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Posts: 490
Location: Cleveland, OH

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love my AVR ISP mkII !

I've used it for years, on many Xmega's and others, and it still works.

Do you still have the "broken" ones?

Do the broken programmers work to program a Mega238P chip in an Arduino Nano, or whatever other little ISP (not PDI) board you might have lying around?

Do you have a current copy of Studio, and have you tried programming both a Mega and an Xmega uC with the broken programmer, using Studio, instead of Bascom?

JC
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
EDC

Bascom Expert



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 699

poland.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think Im the hardcore when I watch yours MKII ahahahaha. For what so many parts on them? Maybe they are also debuger?
I build myown MKII years ago. Have spare uC and GTL2003 buffer but this programmer never fail!
Works extremely fast with Bascom and newest Studio 7 with "one click change".
Ive even eatch this PCB Very Happy It use only AT90USB162 and GTL2003. Program is flashed via its own USB and bulit in bootloader FLIP.
Firmware is latest LUFA. PCB and design is not my project but if anyone interrested I can attach whole 1.4MB project with PCB's.
I have newest ICE but this programmer is my favoured one for Xmegas Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
jenalcom

Bascom Member



Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 361
Location: Perth, Western Australia

australia.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may want to check that your programmer ground and your micro board ground are actually at the same potential (check for AC as well as DC!). If not then that is where your problem lies!
Back to top
View user's profile
mmarlette

Bascom Member



Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 303
Location: Delano, MN

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDC,

I would be interested in the complete project post!

Thanks!!!!

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5087
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this seems to be a variant of the olimex programmer. they have a sch and pcb. the firmware you can also find there.
only the buffer seems different. i must say that GL2003 is a good way. the processor is better protected. but the bat54c will do that nice too so i dont know Very Happy
I can not post the files here but you can download them from olimex site. farnell sells their programmers too so unless you need a lot of them i would simply buy one.
do not forget that these programmers need the avrdude code variant firmware. the firmware is either compatible with studio, or with avrdude/bascom which uses libusb.
but using flip you can simply change firmware.
Or maybe EDC has some other firmware and possible the source.

i do like the EDC slim line version variant :-O

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
hgrueneis

Bascom Member



Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 863
Location: A-4786 Brunnenthal

austria.gif
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use Studio7, then the Firmware is also updated to the newest version. By the way, AVRISP mkII are still available on ebay.
I have mine for about ten years without problem. Just needed reinstallation after Windows change.
I always plug in the USB cable first and then turn on the target.
Like mentioned before, a potential difference between mkII and the target might kill it.
Good luck.

Best regards
Hubert
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum