Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

serialin

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Duval JP

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 1161
Location: France

france.gif
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:55 pm    Post subject: serialin Reply with quote

it semms a misnomer not really but it can be confusing
serialin1 corresponds to com2 and not to com1 as indicated in the help
Quote:
Some chips have multiple HW UARTS. Use the following parameter values:

· SERIALIN or SERIALIN0 : first UART/UART0 named Com1

· SERIALIN1 : second UART/UART1 named com2

· SERIALIN2 : third UART/UART2

· SERIALIN3 : fourth UART/UART3


in fact this is working
Code:
Config Com1 = 115200 , Synchrone = 0 , Parity = None , Stopbits = 1 , Databits = 8 , Clockpol = 0
Echo Off
Config Serialin0 = Buffered , Size = 30 'RX from Terminal
Open "COM1:" For Binary As #1
Const Usb = 1
'*****************************************************************
'*           CONFIG BUFFERED USART FOR NEXTION                   *
'*****************************************************************
Config Com2 = 38400 , Synchrone = 0 , Parity = None , Stopbits = 1 , Databits = 8 , Clockpol = 0
Config Serialin1 = Buffered , Size = 30    'RX
Config Serialout1 = Buffered , Size = 30        'TX
Open "COM2:" For Binary As #2
Const Nex = 2


I tryed to use the USB port as debug for a Nextion display and I have a lot of error with the definition of serialin
now it's work
JP Wink

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.8.2 )

_________________
pleasure to learn, to teach, to create
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5922
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes it can be tricky. when i made bascom-8051, most users knew about GWBASIC and it used the PC com port : COM1.
So in order to make it simple, i used the same convention : COM1 for the UART.
For the AVR i used the same method. And the first AVR processors only had 1 UART. And al UART registers did not had any number so the world was simple.
When there came processors with 2 UARTS i used COM2 for the second UART.
Atmel named the second uart with an 1 so there was UDR and UDR1.
Later they renamed to UDR0 and UDR1 using base 0.
So then i used UDR and UDR0 to be equivalent.
But somewhere i goofed up for the SERIALIN/OUT.
The problem is that i can not change it anymore since it would break code. I thought about a switch/option but that will also result in a support nightmare.
So, sorry, this is one of the things i wished i had paid better attention to.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
AdrianJ

Bascom Expert



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2483
Location: Queensland

australia.gif
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think most of the problem is with Atmel. If they had called the Uarts 1,2... etc then most of the problems would have been fixed. But of course they probably think in ASM, like me, where the base address of anything is always 0, and higher addresses in the array are base + 1, base + 2 etc.

I struck this years ago on a unit where we only used 1 Uart originally, so called it Com1. Then we expanded to 2 Uarts, and I decided to assign Com1 = Uart1, Com2 = Uart0. That caused endless confusion later on.

_________________
Adrian Jansen
Computer language is a framework for creativity
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum