Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

I think, Config TCP is not confortable with W5500
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> EASY TCP/IP
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5235
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are welcome.
today i checked the register value and it remains &H80.
So the bit never clears as the datasheet suggests. probably a bug in the w5500 chip.
Since there is a delay built into the lib i now removed the check of the status bit.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
katipefendi

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 30

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy
thanks mark it works very well
Back to top
View user's profile
andro

Bascom Member



Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 87
Location: Ljubljana

slovenia.gif
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello to all!

I still have problems with w5500 ...
katipefendi, six1 - what is your experience with w5500 now, after almost a year after last post?

br
andrej
Back to top
View user's profile
katipefendi

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 30

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi andrej,

what exactly is your problem?
Back to top
View user's profile
andro

Bascom Member



Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 87
Location: Ljubljana

slovenia.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello!

I use a wiz850 module for a simple tcp communication with servers. I did not mess any buffer settings or something. I only open one socket, establish tcp session and maintain it with periodical keep-alive packet or with a useful message.
Everything worked fine in known environment, but once brougth 7 such terminals to a real and rather unknown environment (a hotel resort on an island, 600km away....) , things went wrong
After a short period (1 to 5 hours), practicaly all of 7 terminals start to loose connection, with wiz850 modules being 'hanged'. Even ping respons was not possible. And usually w5500 was overheated, causing several power supply failures.
Once, without known reason, I was able to 'reach' such state even in a lab. I was not able to hold a finger on a w5500 chip (also onboard switcher was very hot, but was still maintaining 3.3V)
I read a lot about problems with w5500, even that isue with a controversial inductor between AGND and DGND.

In the mean time, all 7 terminals were removed from the project /location.

About the inductor - indead, some older, and I think even some newer original Wiznet modules do not have that inductor - both AGND and DGND are directly connected!

A few days ago, I put two termnals back on my desktop, and have removed that particular inductor. I'm not sure jet, but at least one terminal, that is non-stop powered on, after a 24 hours it still works fine.

I will try to reduce my Bascom code to the minimum, and then I will attach it to my post.

Oh, another thing - during that situation with 7 terminals at the location, I was able to get an access to a laptop with a Wireshark, connected to same network. I saw, the network was very messy - ful of TCP sequence errors and lot of Multicast traffic. I do not remember the exact address, but it was a video broadcast traffic.
I was able to simulate this multicast traffic simply with video broadcast option in VLC program at home network. And w5500 did not crash...

Hope I was not to long... Smile

Best regards
Andrej
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5235
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

one important thing : each module need to have its own MAC address.
When the module get hot it is likely that there is some flaw in the hardware or even the chip.
First thing you want to be sure of : use genuine products. Ask the vendor for a certificate.
I once tried to speed up a project by ordering chips from aliexpress. they looked ok but all devices got problems and they turned out to be fake.
you can also ask wiznet about it. i used all their chips without problems. the w5500 i did not used in project however. (the old ones work still ok)

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
andro

Bascom Member



Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 87
Location: Ljubljana

slovenia.gif
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

MAC addresses are ok. (also the MSB octet an even number).
Modules were bougth at TME and I believe, they are all genuine. Yes, I tried also some aliexpress modules - they seem to be fake indeed (I was not able to make them run).

Best regards
Andrej
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5235
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in any case, when the module gets hot, it is not a bascom issue. you best contact wiznet support and check wiznet forum. most modules have some glitches so check the errata as well. When the modules gets too hot, outside the specs and stop working, it must be some hardware problem, unless they have a register to control the temperature for operation during winter Wink
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> EASY TCP/IP All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum