Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

BascomAVR IDE -> Kanda AVRUSB-ISP
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wattsy

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Finistere (on the beach)

france.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 7:40 am    Post subject: BascomAVR IDE -> Kanda AVRUSB-ISP Reply with quote

Hiya,

I have copied this from the 'Various' forum as I posted it there by mistake - apologies for the duplication.

Hoping someone can give me a pointer or two.
I have been using Kanda's STK200 and 300 boards for a while but have never been able to 'see' the chip to be programmed on the STK board using the supplied Kanda USB-ISP programmer from the Bascom-AVR IDE.
I *can* see the chip (whatever it is I'm using at the time) on the STK if I use Kanda's AVRISP-U application. BUT, to use the app I need to save it in the Bascom-AVR IDE then open it in the Kanda AVRISP-U app. Not a huge problem simply an annoyance and an extra couple of steps each time I make a change to the code.
Is there a way to use Kanda's AVRISP-U dongle & STK board directly via the Bascom-AVR IDE please ?
Whatever setting / option I select to select the AVRISP-U programmer from within the Bascom-AVR IDE I am unable to 'see' the on board chip.
Any ideas / pointers as to what I'm doing wrong / what I should be doing please ?

Many thanks in advance !

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.8.1 )

_________________
and there it was... gone !

Bascom Full Version 2.0.8.1
STK300 IDE
Back to top
View user's profile
Wattsy

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Finistere (on the beach)

france.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:17 am    Post subject: More info Reply with quote

...some more detailed info (just in case it helps) :

I'm using a Windows 10 on a Windows Surface Pro, Bascom-AVR 2.0.8.1 and a Kanda.com USB ISP2.

I have connected the KandaUSB-ISP to the Surface and I get the 'connected' tadaa tone.

Using Kanda's AVR-ISP software and loading the Bascom created hex file I can see, connect and program the ATMega16 on the STK200 board.

Trying to connect to the same setup using Bascom results in a "USB programmer not found"message.
Clicking on "OK" rerults in a "Erasing chip, are you sure message".
Clicking "Yes" or "No" resultrs in another "USB programmer not found" message. Clicking "OK" results in a repeat of the last message "USB programmer not found".
Clicking "OK" after that results in a "Difference at 00000" message.
Clicking "OK" after that produces a 'dalek' sound and a completion of the error
message sequence.

In 'Options'/'Programmer' I have tried 'AVR ISP Programmer', 'STK200/STK300 Programmer', 'USBProg programmer / AVR ISP mkII', 'USB ISP programmer' and various others.
All fail.

Do I need to do soemthing else to point the Bascom-AVR IDE's selected USB programmer to some specific USB / virtual comm port 'thing' or... ?

Hope the above helps a bit and goes some way to proving I am trying to fix this myself but have drawn a blank !

Any help please ?

_________________
and there it was... gone !

Bascom Full Version 2.0.8.1
STK300 IDE
Back to top
View user's profile
MWS

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 1771

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.mcselec.com/bavr/index.php?title=LIBUSB
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4925
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That programmer is not supported. So it will not work. you can only try the 'external programmer' option and call their software.

Years ago Kanda bought a lot of CD licenses from us and then they wend bankrupt without paying the bill.
Some weeks later they happily continued using the same name and staff but without paying the bills.
After that i had it with kanda and as a result there is no support for their programmers.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Wattsy

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Finistere (on the beach)

france.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to hear that Mark. Truly I am.

I am trying to be helpful here :
Maybe a message saying something like : "Kanda programmers (STK200/300) NOT supported !" would be helpful on your site.
To be fair, the Programmer options in the IDE are confusing in that the IDE appears (to the otherwise uninitiated) to give the option for : STK200/STK300 programmer, STK500 programmer, AVR USB ISP programmer - all leading me (and others, I'm sure) to beleive that the Kanda kit IS supported. Had I known otherwise I ewould NOT have purchased the Kanda STKs.
Not your fault - most certainly - and, like I say, I'm truly sorry for you. It's this sort of behaviour that really causes companies like yours and mine unnecessary pain and suffering !

Thanks for the quick response. Would you recommend a programmer (or two) to handle a range of the Atmel micros please ?

Anywatys, as always, thanks.
Regards.

_________________
and there it was... gone !

Bascom Full Version 2.0.8.1
STK300 IDE
Back to top
View user's profile
Wattsy

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Finistere (on the beach)

france.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi MWS.
Thanks for your response.
Yep, I'd tried that. got to the last step of Scenario 1 successfully but I lost my way at the line :

Quote:
Now the programmer will work in BASCOM. Just select the proper programmer, and timeout of 100 ms. You can try lower time outs too to make it quicker. When you get errors, increase the time out. 100 ms should do for all programmers.


Which 'proper programmer' do I select please ?
I'm not really expecting a specific answer but just how to know the 'proper programmer' name ?

Again, thanks.
Regards.
_________________
and there it was... gone !

Bascom Full Version 2.0.8.1
STK300 IDE
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4925
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stk200 and stk300 ARE supported.(LPT programmers) But they are not from Kanda but from atmel. Kanda only designed them from atmel just like the stk200/stk300.
the problem is that many companies all named 'their' programmer USB ISP.
The USB-ISP programmer refers to the EMBUD USB-ISP programmer which they do not make anymore.
The UsbProg Programmer / AVR ISP mkII is named because the author requested so. But it is a clone of the atmel ISP mkII. Olimex has clones too that work.
The Kamprog works without drivers (that is they use built in windows drivers) but they were no on stock last time i checked.

The mySmartUSB light skt500 mode programmer is a nice and cheap one.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Wattsy

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Finistere (on the beach)

france.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mark, much appreciated.
Regards.

_________________
and there it was... gone !

Bascom Full Version 2.0.8.1
STK300 IDE
Back to top
View user's profile
Duval JP

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 907
Location: France

france.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The mySmartUSB light skt500 mode programmer is a nice and cheap one.

yes it is the best one
even when Windows 10 do update it works !
you will found it here
http://shop.myavr.com/index.php?sp=article.sp.php&artID=200006

but don't forget the adapter 6 to 10 pins :
http://shop.myavr.com/index.php?sp=article.sp.php&artID=100075

If you have any problem let me know by MP
JP


Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
EDC

Bascom Expert



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 656

poland.gif
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someday you may want to program Xmega chip and then clone/origin AVR ISP MK2 is the best solution because it cover ISP,TPI and PDI means Attiny + Megas + Xmegas and clone price is very low now...
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
O-Family

Bascom Expert



Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 158
Location: Japan

japan.gif
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also think that Atmel genuine AVRISPmkII clone writer is good.

[USB AVRISP XPII], the function and appearance are very similar to AVRISPmkII.
This is very compatible with BASCOM-AVR.
You can also use it from Atmel Studio without problems, you can also update the same firmware as genuine.
https://www.waveshare.com/product/mcu-tools/avr/programmers-debuggers.htm

The comparison article is in Japanese, so please translate it on Google.
Original Japanese.
http://www.ne.jp/asahi/shared/o-family/ElecRoom/AVRMCOM/AVRISPmkII/AVRISPmkII.html

English translation.
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=ja&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ne.jp%2Fasahi%2Fshared%2Fo-family%2FElecRoom%2FAVRMCOM%2FAVRISPmkII%2FAVRISPmkII.html&sandbox=1

retailer.
https://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?catId=0&initiative_id=SB_20180530155853&SearchText=AVRISP+XPII
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Wattsy

Bascom Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Finistere (on the beach)

france.gif
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all.
Thanks to all of you. Great advice. I do have one question though (at the bottom) :

JP : 'MySmartUSB Light' looks great. And only 22Euro on Amazon France with 2 day delivery !

EDC :
Quote:
Someday you may want to program Xmega chip and then clone/origin AVR ISP MK2 is the best solution...
. Understood. I used to use the ATMega 1281 and 2561's and now I'm playing with ATtiny 2313's and 85's amongst others, so flexibility / ability to handle the range of AVRs would be great.

O-Family :
Quote:
I also think that Atmel genuine AVRISPmkII clone writer is good
. Understood too !

So, to my question :
Would the programmer I purchase simply replace the Kanda AVRUSB programmer I have (USB one end and 10pin IDE connector at the other) and still connect to the Kanda / Atmel STK200 / STK300 ? Havbing 'invested' in the two STK boards I am reluctant to give them up - I'm hoping to simply replace the Kanda USB programmer with another and continue to use the STK boards... unless there are better options ?

Thanks again.
Regards.[/quote]

_________________
and there it was... gone !

Bascom Full Version 2.0.8.1
STK300 IDE
Back to top
View user's profile
benoit

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 177

france.gif
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI
YOU CAN LOOK AT EBAY FOR FRENCH SELLER
LOOKAT " USBASP AVR ISP programmeur "

YOU CAN HAVE THEM FOR 5

IT WORK WELL FOR ME
Back to top
View user's profile
Duval JP

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 907
Location: France

france.gif
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a lot of answers... forum is living and well !

you use STK200 so it is 10 pin connector.

the genuine AVRISPmkII programmer or the "MySmartUSB Light" is a 6 pin one

I repeat don't forget the adapter 6 to 10 pins :


http://shop.myavr.com/index.php?sp=article.sp.php&artID=100075

this converter is usable with the genuine AVRISPmkII programmer too

JP Wink

_________________
pleasure to learn, to teach, to create
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
EDC

Bascom Expert



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 656

poland.gif
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr Duval,
Why use 10 pin connector where 6 pi is enough?
I can understand that KANDA was developed for dbuging with USART and they need more pins but for programming AVRs we do not need more than MasterInputSlaveOutput(MISO), Master OutputSlave Input (MOSI) ,Clock and reset for both if needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum