Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Bascom + Olimex AVR ISP MK2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alex20q90

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 89

germany.gif
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 11:20 am    Post subject: Bascom + Olimex AVR ISP MK2 Reply with quote

Hi,

how i get this programmer work?
I Installed AtmelStudio 6. There it works!

For Bascom i have found here:
http://www.mcselec.com/index2.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=59&page=viewtopic&t=9377&highlight=avr+isp+mk2

but it dont work! i flashed firmware with FLIP.

If i select FLIP in Bascom, nothing happens!
Same withe the original Atmel ISP!

Anybody had a solution for me?
I Would like to programm the XMegas!

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.7.8 )
Back to top
View user's profile
Evert :-)

Bascom Expert



Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2092

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alex,

I don't know the Olimex Isp, but to get an Atmel ISP MK2 working with Bascom you have to read this:
http://avrhelp.mcselec.com/libusb.htm?zoom_highlightsub=usb

_________________
www.evertdekker.com Bascom code vault
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4798
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FLIP in bascom requires FLIP from atmel to be installed and working. FLIP in bascom uses the USB bootloader found on a number of atmel chips. For example usb1287 or usb162. It is not used in any other mode.

mkII requires that you have installed the original driver and that it works. You did that so the next step is to add LIBUSB. THen install a filter driver as described in the help. That way you can use both studio and bascom.

mkII is tested on multiple windows versions. Some clone programmers require different firmware to work with LIBUSB. I believe that is the case for the olimex programmer as well. Olimex has alternative firmware for that.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Alex20q90

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 89

germany.gif
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

i already had installed LIBUSB, FLIP, AtmelStudio6 etc.

In Studio6 i can read and write the XMegas, but not in Bascom! Every time wrong chip id!

At Moment i use for normal ATMegas the MCS "USB-ISP Prog" from the shop! I have 3 of it and it works fine!
But i cant program XMegas with it (or i can?). I only would like to programm XMegas too for my bussiness!
So many problems to get it run! Didnt have MCS a solution for it? Like a setup.exe?

Best regards
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4798
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should start with giving some proper information.
now you added :
Quote:
Every time wrong chip id!

which means that the programmer is recognized. And the chip ID is read.
- Did you made your own DAT file?
- Are you really using 2078 ?
- Which processor do you use?
- do you have the $regfile directive in your code? and for which processor?

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Alex20q90

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 89

germany.gif
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Quote:
- Did you made your own DAT file?

i use the dat-file from bascom "xm128a1def.dat"




Quote:
- Are you really using 2078 ?

Yes

Quote:
- Which processor do you use?

The AVR ist a XMega128A1

Quote:
- do you have the $regfile directive in your code? and for which processor?

$regfile = "xm128a1def.dat"
The AVR ist a XMega128A1
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4798
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works perfect for me. Just tested.
did you installed LIBUSB ? (see help). you also need to put firmware in the olimex for usage with LIBUSB. It is explained on olimex help page/pdf for the programmer.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
bzijlstra

Bascom Ambassador



Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 1179
Location: Tilburg - Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:02 pm    Post subject: Working here.. Reply with quote

I am using a Diamex AVR ISP USB MKII and after installing the libusb mentioned in the help file everything is working. I hope you are using the PID connection of the Atxmega128a1.

Have fun
Ben Zijlstra
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum