Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Help, AVRISP mkII, USBASP,STK300 not recognizes ATMEGA164P

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lslabs2005

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:03 pm    Post subject: Help, AVRISP mkII, USBASP,STK300 not recognizes ATMEGA164P Reply with quote

Help, AVRISP mkII, USBASP and STK300 not recognizes ATMEGA164P but recognizes ATMEGA32 ok

I have tested in 04 boards and 04 new Chips (ATMEGA164P) but not recognizes (but the chip ATMEGA164P is not identified)
but as I substitute for a ATMEGA32 andchip identified ok
(5Vdc source. tested in bascom avr and also in AVR studio) all Chips TQFP44
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5071
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i moved this topic since it is not bascom-avr related.
if avr studio can not detect the chip, bascom can't either.
check the hardware, and load on the ISP pins.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
lslabs2005

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry mark, but what I want is to help my problem because as I said before I have tested 04 chips in 04 boards and not working, but when I change ATMEGA32 (same board) recognizes and records the ATMEGA32 ok. I am a programmer bascom to 12 years before I ever programmed in C since 1997. thank you and I love BASCOM
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5071
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so avr studio with mkII recognizes the m32 but not the m164P?
this means that the connections are ok. but... i would recommend to check the load on pb5/6/7. also check that reset pin has no capacitors. a pullup resistor is ok.

ISP pins are also used by SPI. Make sure there is no SPI slave device connected.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
lslabs2005

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes avr studio mkII recognizes m32, but not m164P!
this means that connections are ok. pb5/6/7 not load on the pins are only for ISP. Also the reset pin has no capacitors. but a pullup resistor ok. remembering that writes the M32 ok. ISP pins are only used for ISP programming.
I have a lot of 160 pieces (chips) 'ATMEGA164P'. suspect they are defective from the factory.
so I bought new Chips samples ATMEGA164P and ATMEGA164PA im waiting to get in my country (Brazil) to do further tests then I'll answer the result if it worked ok. I thank you immensely for your concern and help. thank you very much
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5071
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe there is a problem with the chips. i have heard that there exist fake chips. it is important to buy from an authorized reseller.
it can also be the case that these chips have the wrong print. try to measure if gnd of the chip are connected.
i only have m164P DIL chips.

if m32 works, and your mkII firmware is up to date, then m164 should work equally well.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum