Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Windows 7 x64/Setupio CPU usage problem
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
richhbd

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 52

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:54 pm    Post subject: Windows 7 x64/Setupio CPU usage problem Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I've just upgraded my programming box from XP 32 bit to Windows 7 x64, running a clean install. I use a parallel port STK-compatible programmer connected via a PCI RS232/parallel port card. System is a Core i7 box.

(re)Install of BASCOM AVR via the full 2.0.7.3 setup.exe on the new OS initially seemed to go fine but I couldn't program or access the chip via the Manual Program dialog, despite making certain that the base I/O address for the parallel port was correctly set in programmer options.

Eventually found that, for some reason, Setupio hadn't run during initial setup - no problem, I ran it manually and now I'm able to connect to the chip and program as normal. Problem is, now the I/O driver is installed, right from the moment Windows logs on, and whether or not Bascom is running, I'm getting permanent 10% or so CPU usage - about 90% of one of the eight logical cores.

Windows' resource monitor says it's being grabbed by "System Interrupts" - presumably the I/O driver. This is a bit of a pest as it causes the system's power management to permanently run the CPU at maximum speed - with resultant raised temperatures and fan noise (and power consumption).

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the environment a couple of times, and each time the outcome is the same. I've also tried installing the standalone TVicPort i/o driver setup - and this causes the same permanent CPU usage.

Back on XP I was used to seeing the environment grab some CPU resource - but only when chips were actually being programmed. I've tried reinstalling XP on a spare disk, and here, as I previously experienced, the i/o driver only uses CPU resource when a chip is actually being programmed. Seems like there's an issue with the I/O driver when used on Win7 (64).

I've had a search but haven't seen anyone else with similar issues. Is this because this is a one-off problem, or is it because everyone else has moved on to USB programmers? I'm averse to buying different hardware unless I actually need it so any pointers on how to fix it, and get back to the point where the driver only grabs the CPU when it's actually being used, would be much appreciated! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile
Paulvk

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 1192
Location: SYDNEY

australia.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used a parallel port programmer for a long time then I wanted to use my laptop it has no parallel port so being the type who likes to build things I built this http://tuxgraphics.org/electronics/200705/article07052.shtml and used the the parallel port programmer to program the mega8. I did not use the USB to rs232 chip part I instead put max232 chip on the serial lines and made it a rs232 device then I got a USB to rs232 cable this also gave me a rs232 port on my laptop. The programmer works well with the stk500 native driver and was fun to make as I made it on vero board as all it is is 2 chips and some resistors plus the crystal. The other way is to buy a USB programmer, MCS Electronics sell them.

Note: I have a copy of the hex file and Bascom can load it into the mega8 via a parallel port programmer no bit bashing via USB needed!

Regards paul
Back to top
View user's profile
JohnCannon

Bascom Member



Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 162

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I, also, bought a win 7/64 prox two yrs ago and COULD NOT find a parallel port PCI card for it, so went USB. NOW, it appears there are some that are WIN &/64 compat, but check carefully. A GOOGLE search will bundle one URL's list of cards with NON WIN 7 cards. Sounds to me like you should first verify that your card is supposed to work with WIN 7.

Another thing. Isn't it supposed to be sei to EPP (/) MODE?

Good luck. Let us know the solution.

JC
Back to top
View user's profile
olhexy

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For my good old HP Laserjet 5L I could buy a Centronics-USB cable. This works excellent (after I also installed extra RAM in the printer). I think I needed to get a driver from HP.
Conclusion: it is possible to make an old parallel port work on USB.
But for most other purposes I think the parallel port is definitely dead,

Serial port stays. I can keep playing with RS232 because for that the USB-RS232 cables work without any problems.

I had my beloved STK200 renewed by an improved one (8Mhz + 4053IC so you can leave the programmer connected while running your application).

mod : no 'ads' are allowed. Especially not for the company that did not pay when they wend bankrupt some years ago.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5034
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, these cables can only print !
you can not use them as an USB LPT port.
technical it should be possible but i have not seen it happening.

the LPT is dead end. I leave it in bascom-avr but other products will not support the LPT.
Even rs-232 you will not find easily. So USB is the way to go.
laptops with cardbus will not work either for lpt : i tried such a card but it was essential an usb<>lpt cable like all others.
only the older pcmcia cards with lpt will work, but you will not find a new laptop with these slots either. (unless you want to spend 2000 euro for a laptop)

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5034
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And about the original Q : i asked the developer if it is a known problem and if there is a fix.
I purchased it long time ago, i do not know if it is still supported. the last update i got is in the distribution.
When i have an answer/solution i will inform you and test it.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
olhexy

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Besides just for printers it seems to be possible to have a "full" USB-LPT converter for legacy parallel port applications.. From lvr.com you are directed to Henrik Haftman.
http://www-user.tu-chemnitz.de/~heha/bastelecke/Rund%20um%20den%20PC/USB2LPT/index.html.en

But read there the FAQ's before you think 'problem solved'...
Back to top
View user's profile
Evert :-)

Bascom Expert



Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2108

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the converter from Henrik Haftman, it's not working.
Tested with Stk300 and a arm ulink jtag.

The problem with lpt cards for pci is that the legacy lpt (03F8) address are not available on the pci bus and therefore these cards can not get work with a lot software out there.
There are some lpt pci cards with chip set from Netmos that can be redirected to the legacy address in the driver, however this won't work with all motherboards and bios versions out there. These card are also expensive (80,-) and hard to find.
Buy a AVR ISP MKii original and everything is working fine.

Problem for me is still that i have lpt programmers for avr, pic, smartcard, xilinx , arm ,etc....

_________________
www.evertdekker.com Bascom code vault
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
richhbd

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 52

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the input everyone. I've considered a USB programmer and I suppose that's an inevitable move at some point, but like Evert I've still got a lot of parallel port based stuff for various purposes so it'd be nice to try and get this sorted. My PCI card is a Netmos-based device and does have proper Win7 64 bit drivers so that doesn't explain it.

Similarly if I uninstall the Setupio driver I don't get the CPU usage so it appears to be related directly to that.

What I can't work out is why it seems to work fine in XP 32 bit but won't play nice in W7 with an otherwise identical setup. I see the LPT port driver offers some options for interrupt usage so I'll have a play around and see if I can get it licked. If not, sounds like an excuse to knock up a USB programmer. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5034
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

got some feedback from the developer.

Quote:
I never even heard about this issue with TVicPort.
I am not using any interruptions or power management in this driver!


Maybe there is something in win7 that causes it?

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Luciano

Bascom Member



Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 3149
Location: Italy

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I am in the process of installing Bascom AVR on a new PC with Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (SP1).
(Intel i7 2600K / 16 GB RAM).

I don't need to run a programmer via parallel port (I use the stk500) but I was curious
to verify this issue.

I have downloaded the full version of Bascom 2.0.7.3, the file bcavr.zip has a size
of 25,924,190 bytes. After unzipping it, the file setup.exe has a size of 26,024,598 bytes.
I am logged on as administrator and I have run setup.exe after right-clicking on it and
selecting "Run as administrator" from the pop-up menu. The file bscavrl.dll was in the
same folder where setup.exe was located.

No errors during the installation, and now, after restarting the system, the compiler works but the
I/O driver for the parallel port does not work. Below are the two errors present in the system log:

=============================================================
Log Name: System
Source: Application Popup
Date: 1/25/2012 8:23:23 PM
Event ID: 1060
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: W7x64-PC

Description:
\SystemRoot\SysWow64\Drivers\TVicPort.SYS has been blocked from loading due to incompatibility
with this system. Please contact your software vendor for a compatible version of the driver.

=============================================================
Log Name: System
Source: Service Control Manager
Date: 1/25/2012 8:23:23 PM
Event ID: 7000
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: W7x64-PC

Description:

The TVicPort service failed to start due to the following error:
This driver has been blocked from loading
=============================================================

Best regards,

Luciano
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5034
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is not good. The TVicPort64.sys should be installed.
I think the setup need to be altered so it wont install the 32 bit driver on 64 bit.
you should uninstall/remove the tvicport.sys driver.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Luciano

Bascom Member



Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 3149
Location: Italy

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,

Under \SystemRoot\SysWow64\Drivers\ I only see the file TVicPort.sys.
(There are other files there but TVicPort64.sys is not present).

The file TVicPort.sys present there:

Size: 14544 bytes
Date: 3/30/2005
File version: 5.2.1.0
Product version: 4.0

If it is too complicated to add that to the Bascom installation program,
then you could go back as it was before and have the user manually run
a small setup program to install the driver.

Example:

SetupIOx86.exe for 32 bit systems.
SetupIOx64.exe for 64 bit systems.

In my opinion this solution is better because the user has the choice to
install the driver or not depending if the parallel port is used or not as
interface for the programmer. As it is now, I believe that the driver is
loaded at system boot even if the PC has no parallel port.

* * *

After right-clicking on the file TVicPort.sys I get the product version = 4.0.
When I go to the web site of EnTech and I download the demo, the file
is named TVicPortInstall41.exe. (4.1?) Is your version of the driver up-to-date?
(Notice that I did not install the EnTech demo on my system).

Best regards,

Luciano
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5034
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Under \SystemRoot\SysWow64\Drivers\ I only see the file TVicPort.sys.
(There are other files there but TVicPort64.sys is not present).


That is right, 64 bit version of the program you should find in another folder at the proper location.
Quote:

If it is too complicated to add that to the Bascom installation program,
then you could go back as it was before and have the user manually run
a small setup program to install the driver.


it has always been like it is now. the only problem with the setup is that it not only installs the 64 bit version, but also the 32 bit. And it should not install this.


Quote:
In my opinion this solution is better because the user has the choice to
install the driver or not depending if the parallel port is used or not as
interface for the programmer. As it is now, I believe that the driver is
loaded at system boot even if the PC has no parallel port.


I asked the developer but got no good reply on that. I bought the full version and dont want to install the demo.
i will try it on a VM to see if the files are newer.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Luciano

Bascom Member



Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 3149
Location: Italy

blank.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,

The file TVicPort64.sys is not present on my system.

* * *

The file TVicPort.sys is present in two locations and the files have the
same creation date and time. (Date and time when the Bascom installation
program was executed).

These are the two locations where the file TVicPort.sys was installed:

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\drivers\


Best regards,

Luciano

PS: To search the file I use UltraFileSearch Lite Portable V.2.1.1.12019 LINK
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum