Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

BASCOM display on high resolution monitor under Win10

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwolf

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 1:51 pm    Post subject: BASCOM display on high resolution monitor under Win10 Reply with quote

Dear all, I have problems with the display of the BASCOM editor on a high resolution monitor.
It was running perfectly before on my old monitor with full HD resolution.
Now the text is blurry and the menu bar and text are very small.
I tried to change the font size for the editor in BASCOM first, this works, but still the font is blurry.
Then I tried to use the WIN10 compatibility troubleshooter with the result that the font in the editor is now crystal sharp, but now ca. every tenth line appears only half height.
Still the menu bar is very small in comparison.

Does anyone of you have the same experience and maybe a solution?

Kind regards,
Johannes
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5231
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the problem is that i do not have super high resolution monitor. and also i do not use win10 yet, only inside a VM for testing. It is a lot of work to migrate so i delay that long as possible.
but there seems to be a win7 mode where i can test it. so i will have a look at it.
beside that there is the problem of the images : i need to have them remade larger, or use a complete different technique like svg vector drawn.

let me know what kind of resolution you use. and which fonts.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
jwolf

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 4:46 pm    Post subject: BASCOM display on high resolution monitor under Win10 Reply with quote

I do have similar problems with other programs. The Windows routine to calculate the DPI setting in Win10 has been changed to the worse w.r.t. Win7.
The objective has obviously been to improve the display on mobile devices, assuming that nobody is using a large monitor nowadays.

The monitor I use has a resolution of 2560 x 1440.
The font I have set in BASCOM which appears nice and sharp now is Courier new 11 pt. (after applying the compatibility troubleshooter)
I have found there is a setting for the Icons in BASCOM, but setting them to large lets them appear like 30 years ago on 8bit computers.
The font in the top bar is too small and blurry as well as the font and appearance of any other window popping up in BASCOM.

I can well imagine that it is a lot of work to migrate and that you would like to postpone that.
So OK, for the time being I can live with the enlarged Editor font, although positioning the cursor in the text does often fail.

Kind regards,
Johannes
Back to top
View user's profile
JC

Bascom Member



Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Posts: 519
Location: Cleveland, OH

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Johannes,

You may already know this, but I'll mention it just in case it is helpful.

I also have a High Res monitor, 2560x1440, as my primary display, on a Win10 system.

In Settings, Display, there is a section for "Scale and layout".
I have the scale set to 150% for this monitor.
The display resolution is set to 2560x1440, (the native resolution for the display).

I --> think <-- , but don't know, that the first parameter impacts scaling within Win10, while the second parameter impacts the video card driver's remapping at a much lower level.

In any event,
Yes, the task bar icons are small, but on my display the task bas and the Code Explorer, and the main code are all very sharp and clear.

BTW, When I switched to the new video card and monitors I also had to start using the ZOOM function for MS Word so I could see what I was working on!

Take care,

JC
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5231
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you write to support i can offer a test version. i could test with win10 on a VM where it seems to work right. (only the main form and editor was changed).
the icons are not changed. that is much more work.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum