Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Kaspersky Anti-Virus sees the virus in bascavr.exe

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sabre

Bascom Member



Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2

poland.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:14 pm    Post subject: Kaspersky Anti-Virus sees the virus in bascavr.exe Reply with quote

Since Bascom version 2.0.8.2 Kaspersky Anti-Virus sees the virus in bascavr.exe and delete bascavr.exe file. I can't always add a file to exclusions in anti-virus. And after deleting the exe file, this exclusion stops working. Has anyone but me had such a case?
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4835
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can check here : https://www.virustotal.com for a virus.

In my experience free anti virus products give a lot of false positives. Probably so the customer has the idea that 'it works'.

It is best to inform the manufacturer so they can fix their product.

I use a commercial anti virus and it would detect problems. I also, always check using https://www.virustotal.com before a release.

Always make sure you download from mcselec.com server.
And use a good anti virus product.
I think that Kaspersky was banned from government use but for a different reason.

I did test the bascavr.exe and 1 of 70 engines detected 'a problem'. that is because the exe is packed. and some virus use exe packer too. so the simple engines think when they find an exe packer that it is a problem.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Sabre

Bascom Member



Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2

poland.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kaspersky is not a free anti-virus, I pay for the license every year. In addition, the problem began to appear after an update performed from the application from my previous version to 2.0.8.2. I no longer have information in the logs about the message or the virus detected because after removing the exe file it was cleaned by Kaspersky anti-virus. I remember it was heuteristically detected.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4835
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest to use a more reliable virus scanner. this is obvious not a good one. i also advise to contact the manufacturer so they can fix it.
the on line version used by virustotal does not give a problem.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Alexander-Dan

Bascom Member



Joined: 13 Mar 2014
Posts: 47
Location: Bryansk - Russia

russia.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sabre wrote:
Kaspersky is not a free anti-virus, I pay for the license every year. In addition, the problem began to appear after an update performed from the application from my previous version to 2.0.8.2. I no longer have information in the logs about the message or the virus detected because after removing the exe file it was cleaned by Kaspersky anti-virus. I remember it was heuteristically detected.


forward this message to the authors of the antivirus.

My colleagues and I had a lot of problems because of this antivirus, we all refused to use it (yes, we are not so committed patriots of Russian products ) Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4835
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Over the years i used and tested a lot of anti virus scanner. i often use 2 of them on my pc.
since virustotal.com i also use them. I can not risk that we spread a virus. Once an AN from a user contained a virus. So we also test those.
Each new build/setup is often detected by one of the free scanners as a virus because they detect an exe packer. problem is that virus makers use that too.
The only good way is to inform the anti virus maker so they can check/fix it. Most likely if you try it again, they already fixed it.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum