Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Incorrect display in the editor window

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Micha

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 28

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:51 pm    Post subject: Incorrect display in the editor window Reply with quote

Hello everybody

I use the Bascom AVR version 2.0.8.1 and have already found in the version 2.0.8.0 the same effect.

Namely, the lines of code in the editor window are displayed incorrectly. For this I attached a picture.

If you call the Code Exploorer if it is displayed incorrectly, the content in the editor window is redrawn and displayed correctly.

This effect often occurs when scrolling lines of code.

Question:
Do you know the effect and what can you do about it? Is there perhaps a bug here from version 2.0.8.0?

Thanks for help.

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.8.1 )
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4564
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this seems to be a bug in the 'dead code' and 'unused code' redrawing. but i am not sure.
you can turn these options off in the Edit menu and see if it will fix the problem.

when you have a problem like this it is important that others can reproduce it in order to check it.
in order to reproduce we need to know :
- used settings. you can attach your xml settings file (how to do it, i wrote that numerous times before)
- or show screen shots of your settings in relation to the editor
- have some sample code that will produce the problem, a sample file from MCS would be best
- show the steps needed to get the problem : for example, open files 'xx' , go to line 'xxx' and use page down. etc.

_________________
Best regards,

Mark Alberts
MCS Electronics

http://www.mcselec.com
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Micha

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 28

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:24 pm    Post subject: My used Settings, How to reproduce the incorrect display Reply with quote

Hello Mark

I'm glad that you take care of it yourself.

My settings:
I use the settings as in the appendix. I have attached the XML file and the pictures.

Example Code
I was able to reproduce the error with the following file.
C: \ Users \ Michael \ Documents \ MCS Electronics \ BASCOM-AVR \ Samples \ 1WIRE \ 1wireDS2450.bas

To get the error do the following:

1. Replace your XML file with mine
2. Open BascomAVR 2.0.8.1 with my settings
3. Open the example file from above
4. Slowly scroll the entire code all the way down and back. Repeat this several times.

Try this a few times until you see the effect.

I use in the editor font courier new with size 12 'normal' not bold.

I hope the effect occurs with you too. Because I do not want to downgrade to version 2.0.7.8.

If you have questions, like.
I look forward to your result.

Mitch
Back to top
View user's profile
AdrianJ

Bascom Expert



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2432
Location: Queensland

australia.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too had problems ( although not quite the same ) when using Courier font. Mark suggested switch to Consolas font in the IDE, and that has been working fine.
_________________
Adrian Jansen
Computer language is a framework for creativity
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Micha

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 28

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

I tried to limit the error.
And one thing is for sure.
The settings in the menu "Show Excluded Code" and "Show Dead Code" have no effect. This definitely eliminates as the cause of the error.

If the font is changed to "Consolas", the effect does not occur.
It seems only on Courier New with larger font sizes (> 12pt).

Older versions up to 2.7.0.8 worked well with the font "Courier New 12pt".

Can not lie on the font, because before the update from Bascom to 2.0.8.1 the error did not occur.

It must be in my opinion at the IDE itself.

I hope that the programmer is doing the thing.
Because it should not be the solution to use a different font.

For the following actions in the IDE, the content of the editor was redrawn so that the display error disappeared.

- Shrink and restore the program to the taskbar
- Move the mouse over the code explorer so that it is updated
- Switch between the code pages, multiple files are loaded in the editor

Maybe after scrolling it will be enough to simply send the Windows message "Paint" again.

Hope the mistake can be found and eliminated.

Mitch
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4564
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need to select 'use monofont' in options. that will solve the problem when using font like courier new.
_________________
Best regards,

Mark Alberts
MCS Electronics

http://www.mcselec.com
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Micha

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 28

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

albertsm wrote:
you need to select 'use monofont' in options. that will solve the problem when using font like courier new.


Hi Mark
I've tested font "Courier New" with selected Option "Use monofont" and it works.
Thank you very much for this great tip.

Micha.
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum