Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

very strange problem with PWM

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mastermindjp

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Location: INDIA

india.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:29 am    Post subject: very strange problem with PWM Reply with quote

Hello friends
I am facing a very strange problem with the PWM in BASCOM 2.0.8.0, i am not giving any command to PWM still its by default both the PWM's are high (ATMEGA32A)
Code:
$crystal = 16000000
$hwstack = 32
$regfile = "m32def.dat"
$swstack = 10
$framesize = 40
'$sim
Config Timer1 = Pwm , Pwm = 10 , Compare A Pwm = Clear Down , Prescale = 1024
Config Lcdpin = Pin , Db7 = Portc.2 , Db6 = Portc.3 , Db5 = Portc.4 , Db4 = Portc.5 , E = Portc.6 , Rs = Portc.7
Config Lcd = 20 * 4
Cursor Off Noblink


what should be the problem here??

Regards
Aniruddha

(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.8.0 , Latest : 2.0.7.8 )

_________________
We are not innovating, we are just manipulating innovations done by Mother Nature.......
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try to remark this : Config Timer1 = Pwm , Pwm = 10 , Compare A Pwm = Clear Down , Prescale = 1024
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
mastermindjp

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Location: INDIA

india.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello Mark Sir,
you mean to say command out the like this:
Code:
$crystal = 16000000
$hwstack = 32
$regfile = "m32adef.dat"
$swstack = 10
$framesize = 40
'$sim
'Config Timer1 = Pwm , Pwm = 10 , Compare A Pwm = Clear Up , Prescale = 1024
Config Lcdpin = Pin , Db7 = Portc.2 , Db6 = Portc.3 , Db5 = Portc.4 , Db4 = Portc.5 , E = Portc.6 , Rs = Portc.7
Config Lcd = 20 * 4
Cursor Off Noblink


i did this, result is pwm's are low.
???

Regards
Aniruddha

_________________
We are not innovating, we are just manipulating innovations done by Mother Nature.......
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

first of all, always leave out unrelated code like lcd in the sample.
second, describe better what your problem is. you say 'both pwm' but what is that? pwm0, pwm1 or pwm2 and a,b,c ?
Also, tell what you expect.
the config timer1 will setup the timer for pwm and set the pwm port A to output. the level can not be changed after that.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
mastermindjp

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Location: INDIA

india.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, will keep the suggestions in mind.

Problem is if i write code like this:


Code:
$crystal = 16000000
$hwstack = 32
$regfile = "m32adef.dat"
$swstack = 10
$framesize = 40
'$sim
Config Timer1 = Pwm , Pwm = 10 , Compare A Pwm = Clear Down , Prescale = 1024


and compile and burn it in the controller, i am getting PWM1A as high, which should not happen. earlier in the demo version i was using, same code worked fine.

why is it so??

Regards
Aniruddha

_________________
We are not innovating, we are just manipulating innovations done by Mother Nature.......
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when a problem is fixed in the demo, it can lead to this.
i see nothing wrong with the code : portd.5 is set to output.
no other ports are altered. and you specified pwn1a which is portd.5

if you do not want output you should use : COMPARE_A_PWM_NO_OUTPUT instead of COMPARE_A_PWM

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
EDC

Bascom Expert



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 971

poland.gif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With Clear_down your pin will be OFF/LOW with PWM=1023
If pin should be OFF/LOW with PWM=0 then configure it as Clear_up

It is your intention that frequency is so low? Maybe it is for some heater but look at the calculations.

Code:
$crystal = 16000000
$hwstack = 32
$regfile = "m32adef.dat"
$swstack = 10
$framesize = 40
'                                                       > UP <
Config Timer1 = Pwm , Pwm = 10 , Compare A Pwm = Clear Down , Prescale = 1024
'                                                        ^^^^^

'16000000Hz/Prescale 1024 = 15625Hz

'15625Hz/1024(10Bit PWM) = 15,25Hz

Pwm1a = 0                                                   'LED_ON
  Wait 2
Pwm1a = 1023                                                'LED_OFF
  Wait 1
Pwm1a = 512                                                 'LED_BLINK

End

 
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
mastermindjp

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Location: INDIA

india.gif
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Mark Sir,
I got it, in demo it was working in reverse way, like if i set PWM1A = 0 the input for MOSFET connected to PORTD.5 is low, but if i set PWM1A = 1023 then input is high.
in this version its working like this:
Code:
$crystal = 16000000
$hwstack = 32
$regfile = "m32adef.dat"
$swstack = 10
$framesize = 40
'$sim
Config Timer1 = Pwm , Pwm = 8 , Compare A Pwm = Clear Down , Prescale = 1024

Do
Pwm1a = 100                                                 'out put to MOSFET connected at PORTD.5 is high
Wait 1
Pwm1a = 1023                                                'out put to PortD.5 is low
Wait 5
'Pwm1a = 512
'Wait 1
'Pwm1a = 0
'Wait 1
Loop


Thanks

Regards
Aniruddha

_________________
We are not innovating, we are just manipulating innovations done by Mother Nature.......
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
EDC

Bascom Expert



Joined: 26 Mar 2014
Posts: 971

poland.gif
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm. 1023 in the code for 8bit PWM gives me a feeling you not understand "the clue" Very Happy

8BitPwm (Pwm= Cool means that timer will work/count from 0 to 255
9BitPwm (Pwm=9) means that timer will work/count from 0 to 512
10BitPwm (Pwm=10) means that timer will work/count from 0 to 1023

Prescale in the config in the simplest words will divide processor frequency.

...but PWM resolution do it too because timer must count into 1024 in the max resolution.

....... but you cannot use value 1024 for PWM=8 because it can hold/count up to 255.

Write value 1023 into 8Bit counter is not considered by processor the way you think Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
mastermindjp

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Location: INDIA

india.gif
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello EDC,
Thank you for the valuable guidance, literally i was not aware of the fact. Its good to have people like you around.

Thank you

Regards
Aniruddha

_________________
We are not innovating, we are just manipulating innovations done by Mother Nature.......
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum