Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Bascom and Arduino

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-ARDUINO
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
electromicro

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Paris

france.gif
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 3:05 pm    Post subject: Bascom and Arduino Reply with quote

Hi,

I am the author of the AN#181 "Demonstrating the DCF77 and I2C".
This clock works perfectly since some years...

After some years, I am decided to make the design of some new applications.

As this is a "de facto" standard, I will use an Arduino as hardware base.

And I would like to use BASCON as a language, for me better of this one of the Arduino, C compiler.

But as the Arduino compiler is an évidence to start with, trying to use BASCOM is not evident at all.

I have just found one page on the "AVR Help" item Arduino (sorry but there is no link available).

It is not evident at all and is for Windows 7. I have migrate to Windows 10 (sorry nobody is perfect...).

In the forum your explanation is better simple but I don't undestand the reason of the big différences with the Avr Help page ?

Could you clarify the situation ?

Best regards.

Marc
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4722
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to understand that BASCOM is not made for ARDUINO. BASCOM is for all AVR atmel chips with internal memory.
Since arduino uses AVR processors, you can use BASCOM with arduino hardware. Some of the bootloaders of arduino are supported.
For you arduino might be a standard, but many users make their own PCB. Or use a chip not supported by arduino.
It would help if you give a link to the page you mention.

The forum is not part of the help. it is for users by users.

I dont get the question about windows. bascom works on both win 7 and win 10.

the windows help is the same as the on line help.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
electromicro

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Paris

france.gif
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your prompt response.
I totally understand your response and agree with : An Arduino is a AVR chip on their spécific hardware.
On my AN181 I was using my own board design but now I prefer do not spend time and money to do that and it is why I prefer use something cheap and easy to purchase.

The arduino boad I use is a genuino Uno rev3.
It works without problem with the Arduino software environment and language but I don't like it.

The problem seems to be in the fact than Bascom don't program my atm328P-PV.

After some try, I have found than Arduino software use Arduino STK500V2 as a programmer.

And it seems it use the software STK500.exe to work.
I don't have it on my PC and I have just uploaded the 350Mo of atmel studio 7.0.
But it seems, since avr studio 4.0 it is STK.600 now?

I have found on the MCSELEC site a folder named USBISPP, but I don't no how to use it...

I am certainly close to the target but something is out of my competence...

If you or somebody can help me it would be great.

Best regards.

Marc

Edit : We can see in the left windows the problem is with the USB...

Edit again, the day after :

This mornig, programmation run correctly !

Conclusion : Sometime it is better to go to sleep instead to try too much...

Tanks a lot to Mark, with him I will be very happy with Bascom and Arduino !


Regards again

Marc
Back to top
View user's profile
Duval JP

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: France

france.gif
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Marc Electromicro Wink
as you , I spend some time to use Arduino board with Bascom latest version

I work with uno and MEGA2560 take care it is not the same programmer for Bascom
And when the compiler find errors to transfert, some time it is better to restart everything (memory effect ??)

I use the autoflash check, It can take few second to see the connection.

I use WIN 10 on 2 computers, one laptop 32bits Before W7 , the second, tower type 64bits W10 both work well.

I wrote a stating note here:

http://www.mcselec.com/index2.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=59&page=viewtopic&t=12472&highlight=

if you have any question let me know.

JP Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
electromicro

Bascom Member



Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Paris

france.gif
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi JP,

Many thanks for your message and for the informations you gave me.

It is not évident to restart to program after some years....

But I think it can be a good memory exercice.

I Have check again my total allergy to the C language!

And Bascom is really the only reliable Basic language for AVR chips.

Mark make a really fantastic job!

May I suggest more "marketing" efforts to take advantage of the Arduino success to offer anoter language than the original one.

I.e. to have a "Bascom version for Arduino".

In fact just a "face lifting" to give the users a direct working on an Arduino.

But this is is just a suggestion.

Mainy thanks again JP and Mark four your support

Best regards

Marc

PS Is attached a picture of the arduino + LCD with old Bascom software
Back to top
View user's profile
ekomoker

Bascom Member



Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i like bascom for the simplicity of the language an i love arduino for their dozen shield add ons, soo here is my aproach
to program arduino with bascom i simply used x-loader to burn .hex file directly to arduino ... it's small yet powerfull program and compatible with most arduino like uno,uno r3 ,mega or nano
http://russemotto.com/xloader/
Back to top
View user's profile
Duval JP

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: France

france.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi komoker,

Well, you do a nice job but for why ?
To transfert .hex why not .bin ?

With the IDE BASCOM go to options/ and choice or ARDUNO for Uno or ARDUINO STK500/V2 as programmer and transfer your .BIN or .Hex . but .HEX are about 2,5 bigger than .bin

JP Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
ekomoker

Bascom Member



Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

iam just looking for the fastest way ...hihihihihi Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-ARDUINO All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum