Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Questions regardling Structures, overlays and arrays

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TSEYFARTH

Bascom Member



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 1054

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:03 am    Post subject: Questions regardling Structures, overlays and arrays Reply with quote

Hello all,

I have a couple of questions to which I am hoping someone might be able to offer a suggestion. They are:
1. Multi-Dimensional arrays

I am trying to create a multi-dimensional structure to work as a buffer in a form such as this VB6 Code:
Code:

Type typeTx_Buff
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr As Word  
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Zone As Byte  
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_bCount As Byte
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_CmdAs Byte      
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Data As Byte                      
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Data1 As Byte
End Type
Public TxBuffer(100) As typeTx_Buff
 


This is my current work around for the structure:
Code:

      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr(20) As Word    
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr_lobyte As Byte At Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr Overlay    
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr_hibyte As Byte At Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr + 1 Overlay      
 
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Zone(20) As Byte  
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_bCount(20) As Byte
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Cmd(20) As Byte      
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Data(20) As Byte  
      Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Data1(20) As Byte
 


I am hoping that someone may have a better idea/way to create a structure like this.

2. How to overlay a String Var over a Byte array
OverLay:
Code:

Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr(20) As Word
Dim Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr_Str As String * 4 At Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr(1) Overlay
 


The question is, how to repeat the overlay but for a specific element of array "Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr(20) ". As an
alternate, would it be better to simply use another byte varable with a string overlay, then use MEMCOPY to copy the desired byte array element
to this other byte variable for which a String Overlay already exists? This would be slower and take more memory I believe but may be a
viable alternative.

3. Is it possible to redim an array on the fly (I think not but maybe there is a way I am not aware of).

Thanks in advance all!
Tim






(BASCOM-AVR version : 2.0.7.7 )
Back to top
View user's profile
MWS

Bascom Member



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 2262

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Bascom knows basically only one-dimensional arrays. More dimensions have to be set up and handled by user code. The only two-dimensional built-in array I know, would be an array of strings. There the index is the first dimension, while the addressed string itself is the second dimension. But one needs to use then string functions, while one wants to work maybe with a byte array. The terminator byte is also a waste then and I feel it too complicated. Before using such workarounds, I'd have already written code, to handle these multiple dimensions and project it onto one large byte array.

2. An overlay uses the same memory space of one variable, by laying over another variable on it. That's where the name comes from. The overlaying variable can be of a different type than the overlaid one.
The shown sample makes little sense, while it can be done. However, I miss the meaning of overlaying a single string with length of 5 chars (included terminator) onto a word array of 20 words.
Overlay does not create a structure, nor can it be repeated by any parameters.

3. No.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5921
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just want to add that in the next release arrays can have multiple dimensions like a(1,2,3,4,5).
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
TSEYFARTH

Bascom Member



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 1054

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

@ Mark - that will be a really cool addition!
@MWS the overlay is for a single word length, not all of them. It is for an array holding 20 descrete addresses each of 2 bytes.

For example,
Tx_Cmd_Wireless_Addr(1) = &hCDEF
The string is to hold the 4 characters 'CDEF' in this case.

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile
AdrianJ

Bascom Expert



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2483
Location: Queensland

australia.gif
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have a serious misunderstanding if you think a 4 character string overlayed onto a word will hold the characters 'CDEF' when the value of the word is &HCDEF.
_________________
Adrian Jansen
Computer language is a framework for creativity
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
TSEYFARTH

Bascom Member



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 1054

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI Adrian,

That was exactly why I posted the question! Normally the overlay would cover the entire 80 bytes (+1) for the string overlay. So how to do it using just 1 element of the word array??? The only other way I could think of was to have a temp word variable, and overlay that. But that also makes for a lot of manipulation. So was looking for the correct and better way.

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile
AdrianJ

Bascom Expert



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 2483
Location: Queensland

australia.gif
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No Tim,

You still have it wrong. If you have a word ( 2 bytes ) with value &hCDEF, then there is no direct way using an overlay that you will ever see the representation of its value as a (4 byte) string 'CDEF'. The only way to get that is to do

Dim MyString as string * 4
Dim myWord as word

MyString = hexval(myWord )

which invokes a routine to convert a word value into its (hex) string representation.

Think of the degenerate case where the word value is &h0000 ( ie binary zero ). Then any sort of overlay would put two nulls ( binary zero ) into the first two bytes of the string. But no string can ever contain a null, since that is the string ender character.
The string representation of a binary zero word would be '0000', which is 4 ASCII characters of value 48 decimal ( &h30 ). But Bascom would suppress the leading zeroes of this, and only show the string as '0', ie one character of decimal value 48.

Get it ?

_________________
Adrian Jansen
Computer language is a framework for creativity
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
TSEYFARTH

Bascom Member



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 1054

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adrian,

I believe I can get a handle on it. Thank you for your time and detailed explanation/education.

Tim
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum