Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

New AutoUpdate Wizzard available for future updates
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5319
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 12:00 am    Post subject: New AutoUpdate Wizzard available for future updates Reply with quote

Dear BASCOM user,

A new utility is available for updating BASCOM(AVR / 8051) and other system components.
This utility is needed in order to update.
Download the PDF from http://www.mcselec.com/download/misc/autoupdatewizzard.pdf

And download the utility from
http://www.mcselec.com/download/misc/updatewiz.zip

The PDF contains instructions. When you registered at www.mcselec.com/register.htm you will receive an email with the lic you need for the update.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Frankeman

Bascom Member



Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 945
Location: the Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,

For your information !
When i started the AutoUpdateWizzard this morning (without the Lic file) the program crached with a RunTime error 216.
(normally this means that a program try to do something the (Delphi) compiler can't catch).

The next time i got a message that no installed product was found (as expected).

Frank.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5319
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info. You should get a message that there is no product installed. So error 216 is strange. Let me know how it works with the lic.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
randyray

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Bedford, Texas USA

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:59 am    Post subject: Error 216 Reply with quote

I also get the error 216 when running the wizard. I have the license file in the same directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
eddy

Bascom Member



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Location: Near Chicago, IL USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had one problem when I ran the update wizzard. Half way through the download/install portion, it stopped and said file not found. I quit the program and restarted, it worked fine the second time.

It looks like the update wizzard doesn't create a start menu shortcut when you install it to a new directory.

Thanks!
Eddy

_________________
Eddy Wright
Wright Hobbies, LLC
http://www.wrighthobbies.net
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Christoph Klein

Bascom Member



Joined: 01 May 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Germany

germany.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:49 am    Post subject: Re: New AutoUpdate Wizzard available for future updates Reply with quote

> Dear BASCOM user,
>
> A new utility is available for updating BASCOM(AVR / 8051) and other
> system components.

Hi Mark!

Nice idea, I'm having trouble, though :)

Having copied the LIC file into the updatewizzard's folder I can start the Wiz but keep getting "There are no components found to update".

I would like to install the Beta separetely (it would b.t.w. be helpful if one could create new directories using the Wizzard ...).

The log file:

03-10-2004 09:40:54 >Wizzard started
03-10-2004 09:40:54 >bascom-avr-beta.lic found
03-10-2004 09:41:11 >Check the net
03-10-2004 09:41:12 >checking for new wizzard

Does it matter which LIC file I use (as I received two of them :) )?


Bye,
Christoph
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website AIM Address
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5319
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should have received only 1 LIC file.
When you recieved more of them, they must be the same. For example when you registered with 2 different email accounts.

The error 216 could be caused by the fact that the exe is packed.
I just uploaded a new version that is not packed. I hope this fix the problem. Make also sure that you can edit the lic file with notepad. ie : that the file is NOT read only.

I have test in W2000, XP SP1 and XP SP2.
Other OS will follow.

The tools is not intended to do a complete install : that is where setup.exe is for.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Frankeman

Bascom Member



Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 945
Location: the Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Runtime error 216 is stil there.

I tried the wizzard without the lic file ! (because i don't received it yet, just curious to see what happens).

Frank.


Last edited by Frankeman on Sun Oct 03, 2004 9:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile
4Stroke

Bascom Member



Joined: 02 Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Location: Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

That's correct...
Mark hasn't send 8051 lic files yet.

Regards,
Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile
Juergen Bitzer

Bascom Member



Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 25
Location: Reichshof

germany.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:26 pm    Post subject: Re: New AutoUpdate Wizzard available for future updates Reply with quote

I have same problem as Christoph.
The Update doesnt work and shows nothing at all.
I am using Win2K and a proxyserver at linux.

I started different tools at my server (tcpdump, iptraf) and could not find any acces anywhere from the Update-tool to the internet.

Also there comes nothing over out of the ethernet from my Win2K
if i try the tool...

Juergen

Christoph Klein wrote:
> Dear BASCOM user,
>
> A new utility is available for updating BASCOM(AVR / 8051) and other
> system components.

Hi Mark!

Nice idea, I'm having trouble, though Smile

Having copied the LIC file into the updatewizzard's folder I can start the Wiz but keep getting "There are no components found to update".

I would like to install the Beta separetely (it would b.t.w. be helpful if one could create new directories using the Wizzard ...).

The log file:

03-10-2004 09:40:54 >Wizzard started
03-10-2004 09:40:54 >bascom-avr-beta.lic found
03-10-2004 09:41:11 >Check the net
03-10-2004 09:41:12 >checking for new wizzard

Does it matter which LIC file I use (as I received two of them Smile )?


Bye,
Christoph
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5319
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

It seems WININET.DLL (explorer file) is causing the problem. The tool uses this windows system file. Probably in combination with some unknown factors it creates these problems.
I am rewriting the tool now so it does not uses wininet.dll anymore.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5319
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I rewrite the Wizzard so wininet is not used/needed anymore.
You can download the update which has been tested in W98.

One problem remains : Error 216 is reported by some users.
On XP SP2.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
earlwb

Bascom Member



Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:15 am    Post subject: The current 1.0.0.2 version, it is working for me Reply with quote

The newer 1.0.0.2 version worked Ok for me on my PC running Windows XP Pro SP2, with Symantec internet Security Firewall, Norton Anti-Virus, and a Broadband router. I did have to tell the firewall to permit the program to access the internet though. I also told the anti-virus software to skip the scanning of the downloads.

I did have a problem with version 1.0.0.0 (humm maybe it was 1.0.0.1) in that it got stuck in a endless loop upgrading itself to the version 1.0.0.2 UpdateWizard. But I broke out of it and ran the newer version directly.

Thanks
Earl
Back to top
View user's profile
Frankeman

Bascom Member



Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 945
Location: the Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
One problem remains : Error 216 is reported by some users.
On XP SP2.

With Version 1.0.0.2 this is stil true.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 5319
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Problem found and fixed in version 1.0.0.3 that is uploaded.
There is also a setup button on the first screen now that allows you to enter proxy info and the time out of the connection(in seconds).

The pdf was also updated.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum