Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

USB programmer supported by BASCOM

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lbcomms

Bascom Member



Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 118

australia.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:41 am    Post subject: USB programmer supported by BASCOM Reply with quote

Hi all,
For the last few years, I've used a homemade STK200/STK300 programmer from a parallel port using a 74LS244 IC.
This has worked well, but with new computers (laptops) not having a parallel port I now need a programmer with a USB interface.

If anyone had a good experience with one, could they let us know the name of it, and preferably a link to a seller?
A unenclosed loaded board is fine - I can put it into a box OK. I just need to connect the AVR (SCK/MISO/MOSI/RST lines) to the PC.

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile
Ross_ValuSoft

Bascom Member



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Melbourne, Australia

australia.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go ...

http://tom-itx.dyndns.org:81/~webpage/boards/USBTiny_Mkii/USBTiny_Mkii_index.php

Mark had a look at it late last year. I think it is now supported.

Cheers,

Ross
Back to top
View user's profile
Tubeampman

Bascom Member



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Location: Bodo

norway.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Take a look here.
I have tried this one and it works great
http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-ISP-Programmer-ATMEL-AVR-51-ATMega-ATTiny-/280565308982?pt=BI_Electrical_Equipment_Tools&hash=item4152fede36


also look here
http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p5197.m570.l1313&_nkw=atmel+usb&_sacat=See-All-Categories


Regards
Řyvind
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4966
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the MCS on line shop you can find the USB-ISP and the Kamprog. Both are USB programmers.
If you want to get an mkII , i would recommend the original atmel AVRISP-MKII.
It works with ISP and PDI mode.
The clones often require special firmware when using LIBUSB. The one from atmel does not need that. It works with studio and bascom/libusb.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
lbcomms

Bascom Member



Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 118

australia.gif
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try the one that Tubeampman suggested first - I don't know how they can sell them this cheap ($9 Australian including postage from China!)

If it works I'll buy a couple of spares, if it doesn't I'll look at the other suggestions.

Thanks to all that replied.
Back to top
View user's profile
BitBender

Bascom Member



Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 6:04 pm    Post subject: problems with kamprog Reply with quote

We bought 2 pieces of Kamprog.

It seems that its writing data to the Atmega8. But when its finished i get the notification that the flash was programmed incorectly.

Anybody an idea about what i have may forgotten?

When i want to start the kamprog progarmmer tool by Bascom i get the error hclib and nr 126.
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4966
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are the port pins used to program the chip (miso,mosi,clock) connected to a load?
is the chip identified correctly?
I assume you use the Kamprog software, downloaded from the link?

The kamprog programmer in bascom will only work when the Kamprog software is installed.
Have a look in the kamprog software folder to see if there is a file named kavrlib.dll

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
BitBender

Bascom Member



Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I switched from the Sample Electronics Programmer to the KamProg.
I am using the same projectboard. Using the Sample programer still works.
I checked Miso, mosi and clk connections.

With the kamprog software i can read and write the fusebits.
Recognising the chip identy is also no problem. so there is communication in 2 directions.

Maybe there is a software problem in version 1.4 of the kamprog?

When i write a hex file the progressbar goes slow and steady during the programming.
When i want to verify if riten code is ok, the statusbar finishes within a blink and after a few seconds i receivedthe message that writing into flash was incorrectly.

Then i tried to read from my Atmel and to write it back in a hexfile.
The hexfile i wanted to write and the hexfile i did read back ar e not of the same size.

Maybe this information can help to see where the problem might be?
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4966
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the option 'Erase chip' checked?
I use 1.40 version too. Never had a problem.
If you have 'erase chip' checked i will test it with a M8

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
BitBender

Bascom Member



Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mark,

I used received the hint from Kamami to check the VCC on the IDC connector.
I was using the Sample Programmer in the past and never did use the VCC.

I exspected that the VCC on the IDC connector of the KamProg was an output.
But obviously i needs the vcc of my Atmel to be connected to the VCC of the IDC connector.
Problems solved.

Best regards,

Jos Clarisse
Back to top
View user's profile
albertsm

Administrator



Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 4966
Location: Holland

blank.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

yes VCC must be supplied by the board. this way you can also program chips with 3V.
Sample Electronics used the VCC from the LPT port.

and yes i use 1.40 version too.
I use kamprog and usb-isp.

_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> Various All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum