Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

How replace ATMega 8515 with ATmega162

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pinkfloyd11

Bascom Member



Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 248

italy.gif
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:53 am    Post subject: How replace ATMega 8515 with ATmega162 Reply with quote

Dear Friends

I'm working with ATmega8515 (Dip40) insert on STK500 16 MHz crystal ad all work good.
Now that my program need to have more flash I have try to replace it with ATmega162 but it don't work.

When I try to set the fuse appeare the "famous message" that say that the frequency of ISP must be 1/4 of clock ecc.

Why this message appeare?

What I must do for change from 8515 to 162 without problem?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile
Luciano

Bascom Member



Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 3149
Location: Italy

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ciao Giuseppe,

Which socket are you using on the STK500?
(The socket number is printed on the PCB just above the socket).

Best regards,

Luciano
Back to top
View user's profile
pinkfloyd11

Bascom Member



Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 248

italy.gif
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Parttially resoled Reply with quote

Ciao Luciano

the socket is SCKT3000D3.
I have partially resolved programming in High Voltage parallel mode both of my two new ATMega162.

Now 1 work good also in ISP mode and another work but "slowly". In the second of course serial don't work good printing strange character...

How is possible this if I have programmed both whith the same fuse and both are just acquired??

Thanks

P.S.
Di dove sei?
Back to top
View user's profile
Luciano

Bascom Member



Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 3149
Location: Italy

blank.gif
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Giuseppe,

If you use a 16MHz crystal with the STK500 make sure the ATmega162 fuses
are set as following in AVR Studio:

Code:
Unselect >>>> "ATmega161 compatibility mode"
Unselect >>>>  "Divide clock by 8 internally"
Unselect >>>> "JTAG Interface Enabled"
Select   >>>> "Ext. Clock; Start-up time: 6 CK + 65 ms; [CKSEL=0000 SUT=10]"


In your code use:
Code:
$regfile = "m162def.dat"
$crystal = 16000000


Best regards,

Luciano
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum