Forum - MCS Electronics

 

FAQFAQ SearchSearch RegisterRegister Log inLog in

Jumbled Graphics on 240 x 128 LCD
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MadMax

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

canada.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 5:42 pm    Post subject: Jumbled Graphics on 240 x 128 LCD Reply with quote

Hi All,

I've been searching through the forums trying to find an answer to a problem I'm having with my 240x128 T6963 display. This thread:
(http://www.mcselec.com/index2.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=59&page=viewtopic&t=785&highlight=showpic)
describes my problem very well. However, in this thread, the author seems to describe his showpic problem as being a universal problem with the showpic command. I'm only getting some of my graphics garbled when I use the showpic command. Additionally, if I add code to program, graphic A will become non-garbled, and graphic B will become garbled. Adding more code will "de-garble" graphic B, and garble graphic C and so on.
The above thread doesn't seem to have a resolution... well, to be honest, I don't understand the resolution that the author came to at the end of the thread.

Greatly appreciate any help.

Best Max
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
MadMax

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

canada.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also,

Is the help file instructions still valid, describing the multiples of 8 for picture size and location? Especially considering that I am running in Mode 6?
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Plons

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Hilversum - The Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two things popped up in my mind:
1. Timing. That could be an issue. See the thread http://www.mcselec.com/index2.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=59&page=viewtopic&t=4417
2. If you use the graphics converter, make sure your bitmap you wish to convert is 256 color, and yes: use multiples of 8 for the picture position

_________________
Bascom AVR ver 2.0.8.1
ProtectedParallelPortProgrammingDongle: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/PPPD/PPPD%20English.html
Dragon-lair: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/Dragon/Dragon.html
"leef met vlag en wimpel, maar hou het simpel"
Back to top
View user's profile
Kasch

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Two things popped up in my mind:
1. Timing. That could be an issue. See the thread http://www.mcselec.com/index2.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=59&page=viewtopic&t=4417

the link is for a ks0108-controller. But the thread-start (and I Very Happy ) have a
T6963 controller. i have also this problem on my T6963 and i am looking for a issue..
Back to top
View user's profile
Evert :-)

Bascom Expert



Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2107

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here, graphics are sometime's garble.
After 1/2 Sunday testing i noticed the the $Sim was still in the list.
Stupid error from me. Embarassed Now we have perfect graphics.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Plons

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Hilversum - The Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kasch wrote:
Quote:
the link is for a ks0108-controller. But the thread-start (and I Very Happy ) have a
T6963 controller.
I DID read the OP. But the timing for LCD's (character and graph's) can be an issue at higher Fcpu's. The libraries are optimized for speed, so with the lowest number of wait's. And THAT can be a problem for a somewhat slower display.

If you take a look into the library, you'll find delays like
Code:
  @genus(5)
. It might help to change those to ( f.i. ) @genus(10)

Plons

_________________
Bascom AVR ver 2.0.8.1
ProtectedParallelPortProgrammingDongle: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/PPPD/PPPD%20English.html
Dragon-lair: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/Dragon/Dragon.html
"leef met vlag en wimpel, maar hou het simpel"
Back to top
View user's profile
Kasch

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you ever has been a success of this on a TC6963 ?
Back to top
View user's profile
Plons

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Hilversum - The Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
did you ever has been a success of this on a TC6963 ?
No (I think).
My graph-displays are KS0108-based. But I know about the somewhat optimistic delays in the libraries. Give it a try .... have a look in the library. (take the lib-version, not the lbx)
And look also for NOP's. Two NOP's @ 16 MHz is just 125 ns.

One other issue may be ringing on the signals going to the LCD. That can be overcome by adding resistors. Try 1k --- 4k7. The 4k7 may look quite high, but I used it with succes.

Plons

_________________
Bascom AVR ver 2.0.8.1
ProtectedParallelPortProgrammingDongle: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/PPPD/PPPD%20English.html
Dragon-lair: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/Dragon/Dragon.html
"leef met vlag en wimpel, maar hou het simpel"


Last edited by Plons on Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile
Kasch

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
No (I think).

then don't write it!!! i need realy helping tips and not "maybe/i thing/ it is possible /"-things. thank you

Quote:
My graph-displays are KS0108-based.

yes, i know it....but here are other chips in the game.
Back to top
View user's profile
Plons

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Hilversum - The Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kasch wrote:
Quote:
yes, i know it....but here are other chips in the game.
With simular issues.

But I am not amused by the way you respond, so I will leave you to it.

_________________
Bascom AVR ver 2.0.8.1
ProtectedParallelPortProgrammingDongle: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/PPPD/PPPD%20English.html
Dragon-lair: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/Dragon/Dragon.html
"leef met vlag en wimpel, maar hou het simpel"
Back to top
View user's profile
Kasch

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
But I am not amused by the way you respond, so I will leave you to it.


I hope it! You have realy enough spam this tread with sinceless posting...
Back to top
View user's profile
SteveN

Bascom Member



Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 30
Location: Charlottesville, VA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I hope it! You have realy enough spam this tread with sinceless posting...


WOW, Great attitude. I wish you great success in life !

I have seen Plons posts over in www.avrfreaks.net forum (and here). Never once did I see anything close to spam (there or here). As best as I can tell Plons' desire is to HELP people.
Back to top
View user's profile
DToolan

Bascom Member



Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 1384
Location: Dallas / Fort Worth, Texas (USA)

blank.gif
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a suggestion, Kasch... with your attitude, you will end up figuring this out yourself. How's that for some help? You will get little assistance here with your attitude.

And you know what else? You don't have to share a solution afterwards either. We can do that ourselves. Then later you can come here and data mine for answers.
Back to top
View user's profile Yahoo Messenger
Kasch

Bascom Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't spam this thread full,please. If you have REALLY HELP* than post it. On other side don't post anything, thank you!





* not suggestion, only real facts.
Back to top
View user's profile
Plons

Bascom Member



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 434
Location: Hilversum - The Netherlands

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the support, SteveN and DToolan.

For those who are still encountering jumbled graphics: check your version of BascomAVR.
In BascomAVR 1.11.8.7, GLCD.lib has extra delays built in for clock-frequencies higher than 12 MHz.
In BascomAVR 1.11.8.3, GLCD.lib isn't equipped with these extra delays.

Plons

_________________
Bascom AVR ver 2.0.8.1
ProtectedParallelPortProgrammingDongle: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/PPPD/PPPD%20English.html
Dragon-lair: http://www.aplomb.nl/TechStuff/Dragon/Dragon.html
"leef met vlag en wimpel, maar hou het simpel"
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.mcselec.com Forum Index -> BASCOM-AVR Archive All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum